Roasted Italian Potatoes

I adjusted a recipe from Gluten-Free Goddess to make this, and I’ve gotta say, this is the way to eat potatoes!

For this recipe all the ingredients work together to create a wonderful complex flavor. The potatoes are soft and buttery, the olives are salty, the tomatoes have that rich summery tomato flavor, the onion and herbs work wonders…

And then you come across a sweet raisin and you’re in heaven.

I picked some of our first grape tomatoes in my urban garden class for this recipe, and let me tell you, organic and in season makes all the difference. I think I had forgotten what a genuine tomato tasted like: the tender flesh and the burst of off-the-vine fresh joy. I highly recommend buying some farmer’s market tomatoes for this dish (you can totally taste the difference between the canned tomatoes and the fresh ones).

I was a little discouraged, at first, that this recipe included olives. I’ve never been a big black olive fan. Sure, putting them on the tips of your fingers when you’re little is fun and all, but my sisters can attest to my aversion since then. I don’t know what it is (the brine? the way they’re pickled? that type of olive itself?), but I can’t stand those generic, canned black olives.

For this recipe, I decided to keep the olives, but try something new at the same time. I checked out my local grocery store’s olive bar and picked some nice specimens (pitted, of course–no choking during dinner, thank you). The salty deliciousness of Greek olives and Italian olives in a sun-dried tomato brine is to die for. I’ve definitely found my favorite type of olive: gourmet.

(Oh woe is me and my student budget…)

Ingredients

5 to 6 large Yukon Gold potatoes, washed and diced

1 small onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, pressed

1 bell pepper (or several sweet miniature bell peppers)

1/3 cup golden raisins

1 cup grape or cherry tomatoes, halved

1 cup/handful spinach

assorted olives

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2-3/4 cup chicken broth

1 14-oz can diced tomatoes, with juice

1 teaspoon thyme

1 sprig fresh rosemary, chopped

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Toss all ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Then transfer to oiled baking dishes.

2. Make sure the potatoes are coated in the tomato juice/chicken broth mixture. If not, add some more liquid or be sure to rotate the potatoes halfway through.

3. Roast at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 35 to 45 minutes until the potatoes are tender when tested with a fork.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Side dish

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Roasted Italian Potatoes”

  1. Lucy
    08/05/2010 at 10:13 am #

    This looks delicious! While i may not share your love of tomatoes, organic/in season or not, I’m always up for new potatoe dish.

    • 08/05/2010 at 4:13 pm #

      No worries about the tomatoes–they aren’t native to Italy, anyway 😉 I’m sure if you cut them out but keep the olives and raisins it will still taste great!

Leave a Reply

