Article: Food and Feminism

photo from The Handmirror

Today I found this article:

Feminism to blame for obesity? Fat chance

I thought Rose Prince’s argument that feminism (women in the workforce and out of the house) caused obesity (fast food, no home cooking) was interesting. And Jessica Reed’s rebuttle doubly so.

While I think women entering the work force in greater numbers may have had an effect on home cooking, there are also a million other factors that led to our current food industry problems and high levels of obesity.

I loved this quote:

The best cooks I know are feminists from all generations. My grandmother, mother, boyfriend and friends are all part of the club. They taught their sons and daughters to cook because they cared; and because it is an essential part of growing up to be an independent, self-sufficient adult.

As a college student, cooking for myself has really taught me to be more independent and self-sufficient. I choose what to make; I buy the ingredients; I decide what stores to buy from; I select organic or “conventional,” etc. I think food sensitivities only increase this awareness, mostly because ingredients and sources are scrutinized.

I also loved Reed’s ending:

Teach the benefits of stockpiling, bread making, gardening…Inspire others to see food as something to celebrate, something to be proud of, something to savour.

I don’t know what to add, except that these same lessons and inspirations apply to those of us who are vegetarian or vegan or have food allergies or sensitivities. Our food is also something to celebrate and be proud of–and it can taste good, too!

Tags: ,

Categories: Article

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

