Thin Crust Pizza

Pizza time!

I don’t know about you, but I am surrounded by pizza ads. The never-ending coupons from Domino’s and Papa John’s and Pizza Hut–and of course the local restaurants in Eugene, like Track Town and Pegasus. All that cheap good food that I cannot eat. You can put anything on pizza and it will taste good (…especially to college kids). And I miss it a lot of the time.

But I also LOVE making it myself.

  • First of all, it makes my apartment smell amazing.
  • Second, it fulfills my pizza craving.
  • And third, I can put as many toppings on it as I want without worrying about prices or combos.

I’ve made pizza before on this blog, but this time I’ve experimented with a different crust. Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pizza Crust, to be exact. When I was visiting my parents a few weeks ago, I decided to wow them with home-made pizza. Unfortunately, the local stores didn’t have the Arrowhead Mills gluten-free pizza crust that I’d used before. So I gave Bob’s Red Mill a try (I’ve used his flours for other things, but never bought the pizza crust mix until now).

This crust is slightly different than the Arrowhead Mills mix. It calls for eggs (or flax seed and water), and you bake it a little before adding the toppings. It’s also not as fluffy, so if you like thinner crust pizza that’s a little crispy, this mix is for you.

I actually had to make this twice when I was at home because we devoured it so fast. My little sister, who isn’t constrained in her food choices, said it was the best pizza she’d ever had. Somehow, I think that level of satisfaction always exists when you create something in the kitchen yourself.

Ingredients

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix (makes one large or two medium-sized pizzas)

Tomato sauce

Daiya Vegan Cheese

1 shallot, chopped

1 large tomato

Fresh basil leaves

black olives

goat cheese (optional)

1 red pepper, sliced

1 green pepper, sliced

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit. Mix the gluten-free pizza crust flour mix with oil, flax seed, water, and yeast according to the directions on the package. If slighty sticky, add some brown or white rice flour. Let rise in a ball-shape for 20 minutes.

2. When the dough is ready, roll it out with a rolling pin onto a greased and floured baking sheet. Don’t be afraid to make it thin.

3. Bake without toppings for 7 to 9 minutes.

4. Remove from oven and cover with toppings (tomato sauce, cheese, shallot, tomato, basil, olives, peppers.

5. Bake for 15-18 minutes. For a slightly crispier crust (or if you are making a large pizza), bake 20-25 minutes.

6. Eat fresh out of the oven, cold, or reheated. Enjoy!

I really recommend the Daiya Vegan Cheese for a pizza. It melts and gives your pizza both the regular look, and a more cheesey taste. There’s cheddar and mozzarella to choose from.

I also would urge you not to underestimate the delicious-ness of green peppers on pizza. I don’t know what it is, but they are simply divine in this setting.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Main dish, Pizza

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Thin Crust Pizza”

  1. 09/23/2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Oh! Sooo yummy!!! And I love Daiya cheese too! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

