Eggplant Mozzarella

So it was my birthday a short while ago, around Thanksgiving, and I am officially 21. Finally. I’m proud to say I’ve been to my first bar and had my first legal drink (a fuzzy navel!), though I’m sure the brilliance of it all will fade quickly.

But since my birthday was the day before Thanksgiving, I got to spend time with my family (and drink a lot of good holiday wine). When my mom asked me beforehand what I wanted for dinner, I named a dish I hadn’t eaten in quite awhile: Eggplant Mozzarella.

(Granted, I think the usual name is Eggplant Parmesan, but since we’re playing the substitution game, I think it slides.)

This a great main dish featuring nightshade veggies. Without substitutes, it would be impossible to make: bread crumbs, eggs and cheese. Luckily, my parents are just as experimental as I am.

Egg replacers are always tricky. You can try using rice milk for this, but we found that vegetable juice (R.W. Knudsen’s Very Veggie juice blend) works really well because it’s a little thicker. You can buy it at Whole Foods or a similar grocery store. If you can’t find this kind, another brand of vegetable juice will work fine.

This recipe is easiest with two people: one to coat the eggplant slices and one to fry them. So grab a friend for dinner tonight and put them to work!

Ingredients (serves over eight)

About 3 to 4 eggplants, sliced relatively thinly width-wise

Gluten-free/vegan bread crumbs or brown rice flour

Rice milk or R.W. Knudsen’s Very Veggie juice blend

Daiya Vegan cheese, mozzarella flavor

Spaghetti or tomato sauce

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit

2. Dip the eggplant slices in a bowl of rice milk or Very Veggie (this acts like an egg substitute)

3. Then coat the eggplant slices in gluten-free/vegan bread crumbs or brown rice flour.

4. In a frying pan, fry the eggplant slices until slightly golden on each side.

5. In a large oven pan, layer tomato sauce, eggplant slices and Daiya cheese. Repeat.

6. This can be set aside and refrigerated for a few hours until time to bake if needed. Bake for 2 hours, uncovered, until hot throughout. A crock pot will also work for this dish.

7. Serve hot and enjoy!

Edit (December 9, 2010): A version of this recipe (plus one of my photos) is featured on Daiya Vegan Cheese’s facebook page and Cooking with Daiya online recipe collection.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Casserole, Main dish, Season: Summer, Side dish

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

