Pumpkin Alfredo

The original recipe is from Manifest Vegan.

Allergen warning: Contains soy

Ingredients

1 package of your favorite pasta, 12-16 oz. (I highly recommend Tinkyada brand)

sauce ingredients:

1 package (12 oz.) extra firm silken tofu

3/4 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 cup nutritional yeast or Daiya vegan cheese

1/4 cup ground flaxseed (flaxseed meal)

1/2 – 1 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp ground allspice

1/2 tsp cinnamon

olive oil and sea salt to taste

Directions

1. Cook pasta according to package directions.

2. While pasta is cooking, combine all sauce ingredients together in a food processor. Blend until smooth.

3. When pasta is finished cooking, drain, rinse and return to pot. Toss in a light amount of olive oil to evenly coat the noodles. Salt lightly if desired.

4. Combine the sauce with the pasta until the desired pasta/sauce ratio is reached. This recipe makes enough to generously coat 14 oz. box or bag of dried pasta.

This was an unusual dish, no denying it. I didn’t have any nutritional yeast, so to get a cheesy/nutty flavor I tried using some Daiya vegan cheese instead.

I’m not sure if this recipe is my favorite. Adding the cinnamon and allspice to the sauce made it slightly sweeter. But for me, I would have rather had it cheesy and saltier.

I’m glad I tried this recipe, but I think I’ll keep experimenting before I make it again.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Main dish, Pasta, Sauce, Season: Fall, Side dish

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pasta with “Cheesy” Pumpkin Sauce | Food Allergy Cooking - 11/05/2011

    […] made pumpkin alfredo before, and it didn’t strike my fancy. However, I’ve kept experimenting and found a […]

Leave a Reply

