Vegan Cheese Tortilla

Want a great anytime snack? Something not too big, something satisfying, something that calls to mind cheesy and bready goodness. Welcome to a great combo: Food for Life’s Brown Rice Tortillas are wheat and gluten free and Daiya Vegan Cheese is, well, vegan.

I make this snack all the time. An afternoon snack, a midnight snack, a slightly drunken snack (an alternative to my friends’ burritos and the like from Taco Bell or  Burrito Boy). You can’t beat it. Yes, I’ve had a friend who’s made fun of my fake casadia. But I don’t care, because it’s a snack made of yummy-tasting alternatives to cheese and wheat or corn. (It’s also a fabulous base to any larger snack or lunch wrap: simply add some lettuce, chicken slices, mustard or Yumm sauce and you’re golden.)

How do you make this wonderful treat, you ask? It’s easy:

Ingredients

Food for Life wheat and gluten-free Brown Rice Tortillas (or, if you do corn, use corn tortillas)

Daiya Vegan Cheese (I like to use a mix of mozzarella and cheddar)

microwave (to make the cheese melty and the tortilla soft and warm)

Directions

1. Place a tortilla on a plate. Sprinkle Daiya Vegan Cheese on it. (Optional: spread a little soft goat cheese along an edge, or add some grated hard goat or sheep cheese.)

2. Microwave 45 seconds. Fold or roll as desired and devour! Seconds are always an easy, good idea, too.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Snack, Wrap

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Vegan Cheese Tortilla”

  1. 09/04/2011 at 8:39 am #

    Hey few questions for you cousin, have you ever seen the Veggie cheese? It’s a soy based cheese that is also vegan (I discovered I was lactose intolerant in the last year and had to switch out all my beloved dairy products, boo 😦 ). I don’t think it’s just an East coast thing since it’s also available here in Edmonton, Alberta (Canada), but maybe it’s just a Safeway product. But either way I haven’t seen your Dayia cheese, where do you usually get yours at?

    How well does your Dayia cheese melt? Mine takes much higher temperatures than regular dairy cheese which is annoying since my boyfriend eats the regular cheese and leaves me to my “fake” cheese…

    • 09/04/2011 at 8:40 am #

      Sorry about the misspelling: should have been Daiya not Dayia…

      • 09/04/2011 at 6:40 pm #

        I haven’t heard of or tried Veggie cheese (is it this?: http://bit.ly/fQSv3j) I’ll have to look for it :). Daiya cheese comes in shreds, which melt pretty easily. I make these cheesy tortillas all the time, and I’ve used it on pizza too. There are three flavors, but I’ve only tried the mozzarella and the cheddar, which are both good. I’ve bought it at Whole Foods and other more “healthy/organic/alternative diet” grocery stores, but I’m not sure if it’s at Safeway yet.

  2. 09/04/2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Yeah that’s the Veggie cheese, though after reading your about section Veggie cheese isn’t your thing since it’s a soy based product… which even when coming in shreds is a pain to get to melt. And apparently Mozzarella flavor here in Canada is Italian which tastes nothing like the Mozzarella (Veggie Cheese and regular) I’d eat back in the states… I’ll keep my eyes out for the Daiya cheese. Thanks for cluing me in to a new brand (and some tasty recipes).

Leave a Reply

