Betty Crocker Chocolate Cupcakes

I know what you’re thinking: Betty Crocker?

Yes. Betty Crocker makes a line of gluten-free baking mixes. It’s true. I bought my chocolate cake mix at Albertson’s. It was on the bottom shelf, but it was there.

Since it called for eggs and butter, though, I had to alter the recipe for us vegan bakers. And just to play it safe, I made cupcakes, because gluten-free, vegan baking is usually best done in small batches.

And it was a success! Easy chocolate cupcakes! No more measuring four different flours and mixing two egg replacers and adding extra baking powder and xanthan gum.

I admit, I won’t run to Betty every time I’m craving baked goods. First of all, there aren’t that many products, and sometimes putting it all together from scratch (all that measuring I just described) is not only satisfying but fun. And, sad to admit, the Devil’s Food Cake Mix (not sure about the others) contains soy flour. Since soy is something I try to eat sparingly, it’s a bit of a let down to see it in this product when I know I can bake something myself without it.

But I will admit when I want something easy, I appreciate Betty’s help. And I appreciate the fact that large baking companies are cluing in to the fact that a lot of people have problems with gluten.

Ingredients

1 box Betty Crocker Devil’s Food Cake Mix

1 cup water

1/2 cup vegan margarine

3 tablespoons flax seed meal mixed with 9 tablespoons hot water (or three eggs, if you eat them)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a cupcake tin with cupcake holders.

2. Mix all ingredients together. Pour batter into the cupcake holders. The batter was pretty liquid; don’t be afraid to fill the holders almost full.

3. Bake about 21 minutes and presto: yummy chocolate cupcakes. Frost according to your desire (I shamefully used store-bought, but feel free to use your favorite chocolate icing recipe or try a new one). Enjoy!

Cupcakes in the pan, after my roommates and I tested them.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Dessert

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

