Review: Gluten-Free English Muffins

Gluten-Free English Muffins? Is there such a thing? That you can buy at the STORE?!

Why, yes. There is.

Food for Life, whose products I’ve used in the past, has come through again. A few months ago I stumbled upon these gems in the store. I was skeptical at first. I have not had good experiences with store-bought gluten-free bread. Either it has eggs in it, so I can’t eat it. Or it’s hard, dry and not very yummy.

But I went out on a limb and bought a package of English muffins.

Delicious. You keep them refrigerated, pop them in the toaster and wham–toasty, yummy bread. That you didn’t have to bake yourself.

I find that I like them a little less toasted than real bread: just warmed and slightly crispy. If you toast them too long I think they get kind of hard (though I think my mom disagrees, so go with whatever you like). And the topping possibilities are endless: vegan margarine, jam, nut butter, sandwiches, burgers, etc. And it’s always easy because you can just reach into the fridge and grab these babies.

This is definitely a product I use on a regular basis, and I’m so glad I found it. It’s available in your local health food store like Whole Foods. (Also in Market of Choice, for us Oregonians.) There are six in a package. Check it out!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Bread, Breakfast

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Open Smoked Salmon Sandwich | Food Allergy Cooking - 11/14/2011

    […] super easy to make–and very tasty. They’re also a great new way to use the brand of gluten-free English muffins I discovered (though you can use any kind of bread you want for […]

  2. Shrimp, Fava Bean and Avocado Bruschetta | Food Allergy Cooking - 07/03/2012

    […] Toasted gluten-free bread, (I used these English muffins) […]

Leave a Reply

