Thanksgiving Turkey

Okay, I know Thanksgiving was two weeks ago, and everyone is now wrapped up in the craze that is Christmas parties, shopping and (vegan) eggnog. But for us in college-land who survive on the quarter system (not east coast semesters fyi), the transition from Thanksgiving to Christmas is a strenuous one. Stumbling back to college after a weekend full of turkey comas and wine slumber only to be faced with homework, projects. Dead week. Finals.

Whew!

Thankfully (see what I did there?) I’ve made it through to the other side! And now I have time to post some recipes from Thanksgiving–which are probably still perfectly good ideas for Christmas dinner, too.

So on to the turkey!

My family hasn’t cooked a whole turkey since I was little. My older sister was a vegan for awhile, so that might have something to do with it. But we also just make a ton of delicious side dishes, so a whole turkey was a lot of extra work.

This year I was talking to my mom on the phone as the holiday approached, and I said, “I sort of want to do a whole turkey this year. I’ve never done one before.” And now that I’m interested in cooking, unlike when I was younger, roasting a whole turkey seemed like the next step into culinary wisdom.

So my mom went out and found a small turkey: 8.6 pounds. A good size for only three people eating it (mom, dad, me. older sister is pescatarian, younger is vegetarian). That meant there was a good amount of leftovers to make those obligatory turkey sandwiches (and turkey salad).

So, when cooking a turkey:

1. First wash it, take out the innards and wash out the cavities, patting it dry.

2. Then place the turkey in a large pan with 1/4 cup water in the bottom so it doesn’t dry out. Coat the bird with a past of spices and butter. I used a poultry spice mix, salt and slightly melted vegan margarine. My dad skewered down the wings with bamboo sticks. The legs came with a removable band.

3. Then roast the bird in a preheated oven at 350 for just over 2 hours until the internal temperature of the bird is 180 degrees. It will depend on the size of your turkey how long you roast it, and I know there are a billion recipes out there. But this one worked for us.

4. Remove from the oven, take temperature, let cool and then carve and serve!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Meat, Season: Fall

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

