Vegan, Gluten-free Broccoli Quiche

Before baking

After baking

Bon Appetit.com is my homepage for my web browser. So during winter break I had ample time to indulge in looking up recipes. I stumbled upon a breakfast quiche recipe, and it looked so good I decided to try to make my own allergen-free version.

My first experiment used hashbrowns as a crust (a better idea than reality, unfortunately), and I used a very deep pie dish, so it was hard to cook it all through. I also didn’t use enough vegan cheese. But it was still tasty, so my mom asked me to revise the recipe and make two quiches for Christmas Eve dinner.

And here is the result.

It’s pretty good, if I do say so myself. I know it’s hard to imagine an egg-less quiche, but it’s possible. I did use some tofu, so it’s not soy-free, but I’m sure you can experiment and make it if you want. If you eat goat or sheep’s cheese, try adding that in, too. And experiment with the veggies: I was going to use spinach, but it was claimed already for the lasagna on the next day’s menu, so I only had broccoli and onion to contend with (no mushrooms for me, sorry). If I make this again I’ll try it with some peppers and of course spinach or swiss chard.

Ingredients

1/2 Best Gluten-Free, Vegan Pie Crust recipe (makes one pie)

1/2 a block of tofu, chopped and smushed

3/4 cup mozarella Daiya vegan cheese

3/4 cup cheddar Daiya vegan cheese

1 tablespoon Veganaise

1 /2 teaspoons salt

2 cups broccoli, chopped

1/2 large onion, chopped

Add spinach, if desired

1 splash lemon juice

2 tablespoons or so of coconut creamer (make it a creamy consistency, not too wet, not to dry)

Directions

1. Make the pie crust according to its directions. (The recipe given yields two pie crusts, so either double this recipe to make two quiches or reduce that one for one pie crust).

2.Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

3. Mix together the tofu, vegan cheese, veganaise, salt, broccoli, onion and spinach. Mix well. Then add the lemon juice and coconut creamer until a creamy consistency.

4. Fill the pie crust. (If needed, you can refrigerate the filled quiche for a few hours before baking. Just add about five to ten minutes to the baking time). Bake in the oven for about 60 minutes until crust is golden and the filling has risen. Enjoy guilt free!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Breakfast, Main dish, Pie

Author:rsedlak1

Became a voracious, unapologetic bookworm in 4th grade after reading the first three Harry Potter books. Have a thing for dystopias, young adult novels, classic literature and funny memoirs (re: Mindy Kaling / Tina Fey). English and journalism geek, media and pop culture critic, food writer and blogger, editor of an entertainment magazine. Hobbies include: my Netflix account, cooking, gardening, music, art and hiking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

